Discussion Archive: August 2011

31 Aug 2011 - 8:26pm
2 years ago
9 replies
AnUnimaginaryKid

What are the "main" differences between getting a degree (e.g., MI) from an "iSchool" vs. an getting an MDes or MFA from an IxD specific program? And which would be better for someone with a humanities background?

Hello!

I'm new to this site and have been reading a bunch about master's programs for IxD since I've been preparing to apply for the Fall 2012 term. This whole field is relatively new to me (I only found out about it about half a year ago) and at first I was concentrating on strictly IxD programs (like at CMU or U of Wash), but have lately found threads where iSchools were mentioned as being good because it doesn't require a design background, so I started taking a look at those.

31 Aug 2011 - 4:54pm
3 years ago
3 replies
digikev

Studying at the Open University

I am about to start studying at the Open University (opens in new window), and picking modules that will increase my knowledge and progress my career as a UX designer. The modules cover cognitive psychology, technology and design. This is what I am looking at so far:

Level 2 modules

31 Aug 2011 - 9:23am
2 years ago
1 reply
Brian Sullivan

Tips for Performing a Multiple Channel Usability

My cleint wants me to perform a mulitple channel usability test, where we might have someone print a boarding pass on the web, go to a kiosk to print a luggage tag, and use their mobile device to pick their seat.  I think it is best to do this kind of scenario type testing, where I can view the person.

Has anyone ever done a test like this before?  What advice do you have for me?

30 Aug 2011 - 2:20pm
3 years ago
1 reply
alotofmath

Usability for Content Created in a CMS (Content Management Systems)

Hello,