Discussion Archive: June 2012

30 Jun 2012 - 1:07pm
2 years ago
1 reply
mquirante

HCI Masters - Is it worth it?

Hello,

I've been doing UX design for almost a year now and I am considering taking up a graduate program in HCI at Depaul. For those who have been in the industry or those that hire UX designers:

Is it beneficial at all for me to have this degree? Will it provide me more opportunities? Will I have better leverage for salary negotiation?

I am just wondering if the benefits will out weigh the costs of the program and see if this is something that will accelerate my career and give me more experience while I work full-time as a jr. ux designer.

29 Jun 2012 - 12:51pm
2 years ago
2 replies
scottasavage

Data modeling in prototypes (spec. Axure/Justinmind/iRise)

Hi all,

Just a brief intro before I start: I'm Scott Savage, and I'm a Senior UX Designer with Monster.com on the Government Solutions side. I, and my other UX counterpart, are on the Product Management team, and we're currently using Mockflow for our low-fi prototypes/wireframes, and manually constructing hi-fi versions in either Photoshop, Dreamweaver, and occasionally delivering fully interactive prototypes in HTML/CSS/Javascript.

29 Jun 2012 - 10:09am
2 years ago
7 replies
Ronin

I'm new to interaction design and I could really use some advice.

Hi, I only discovered the career of an interaction designer today to be honest. I just graduated with a degree in management information systems (MIS). interaction design appeals to me more than anything ive ever thought of  in the past but I'm not sure if I have the skills, or where to start looking for a position.

Some of my skills:

28 Jun 2012 - 10:56pm
mdory89

New to IxDA