Discussion Archive: October 2013

31 Oct 2013 - 7:01pm
45 weeks ago
1 reply

Breaking into the UX field - Going to DePaul

Hi,

I was recently admitted to the HCI master's program at DePaul and would like to get some input from people in the field. I am totally new to UX. I have 10 years of work experience.

30 Oct 2013 - 2:48pm
45 weeks ago
3 replies
jeff

How to find and select a design firm

Thanks in part to some of the advice and suggestions from this discussion list, my company is ready to engage a design firm to do some work on one of our web applications. We're looking for UX and visual design. How do y'all recommend finding a firm and evaluating whether they're a good fit for our culture and product?

29 Oct 2013 - 2:23pm
Melanie St.James

Mature UX in University IT/Library groups

Hi, I'm looking for universities with mature UX on the "business" side  (instead of academic side), which will probably be in IT or in Libraries. So far, I found one:

University of Michigan
Library Information Technology: User Experience Department
http://www.lib.umich.edu/mobile-technology/user-experience-department
"Our efforts are focused on interface design (interaction design & visual design), user research, assessment (usability, web use statistics analysis), content strategy, and web accessibility".

Thanks for any pointers.

29 Oct 2013 - 7:01am
44 weeks ago
3 replies
Preston McCauley

Looking for research, articles, case studies before and after on social registration vs non-social account registration

Hello:

I'm trying to dig up some articles / research on improved registration conversions before implementing quick social registrations (facebook, google, yahoo,etc..) on long forms. If you do have such data would love a link or would love to hear about your personal experience.

In particular I am most interested in registration on sites that require more information than just password, email.

Thanks!

20 Oct 2013 - 10:39pm
46 weeks ago
3 replies
tony