Announcing IxDA’s 2009 Board of Directors

25 Nov 2008 - 2:12pm
7 years ago
1 reply
2616 reads
Elizabeth Bacon

Dear IxDA Members,

We are very happy to announce the IxDA Board of Directors for 2009
with the addition of three new Directors. Please welcome Amyris
Fernandez, Jon Kolko and Kevin Silver. We look forward to their
contributions to the Board and the efforts they will catalyze for our
entire community. Here are short biographies of the new Directors:

Amyris Fernandez

Amyris has 27 years of work experience. Today she owns an IxD
consultancy, teaches Interaction Design at two main universities and
is part of the IxDA local group leadership in São Paulo, Brazil. She
started her career in marketing, and in the early 90’s began to focus
on the Internet. In 1996 she decided to travel to the United States to
take on a Master’s degree in E-commerce from the Rochester Institute
of Technology, NY - EUA. During her post-graduate studies she started
to work with HCI and usability. She completed her Ph.D. by studying
cell phone game playability, part of which was pursued at the
Information Technology at Copenhagen, Denmark.

Jon Kolko

Jon is a senior design analyst at frog design. He has worked
extensively in the professional world of interaction design, working
around complicated technological constraints in order to best solve
the problems of Fortune 500 clients. The underlying theme of his work
in both consumer and enterprise domains was the creation of a design
solution that was useful, usable and desirable. His present research
investigates the process of design, with a focus on various methods of
synthesis used to translate research into insights. Prior to working
at frog, Kolko was a professor of interaction and industrial design at
the Savannah College of Art and Design, where he was instrumental in
shaping the interaction and industrial design programs. He is the
author of the book Thoughts on Interaction Design [
], and is the editor-in-chief of interactions Magazine [
], published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

Kevin Silver

Kevin is an empathetic champion of the end user and has been involved
in designing the behavior of digital products since 1995. He has
worked on a diverse range of projects for the government, software
companies and many nationally recognized brands providing strategic
direction and interaction design goodness. As a passionate advocate
for Interaction Design, Kevin has led the charge in forming an IxDA
local group in New Mexico.

Amyris, Jon and Kevin will be joining returning Directors Liz Bacon,
Nasir Barday, Bill DeRouchey, Janna DeVylder, Jim Leftwich and Jeremy
Yuille. Both Josh Seiden and Greg Petroff will be completing their
second terms and departing in February. They represent the last
Directors who comprised the original IxDA founding team. We look
forward to thanking them for their tremendous service at the
Interaction’09 conference.

The number of Directors on the Board as of 2009 will be our full
complement of 9 individuals. IxDA Directors serve for staggered, 2-
year terms with a two-term limit. While the new IxDA Board will
officially form on January 1, 2009, we are allowing for one month of
overlap with the departing directors to facilitate knowledge transfer.

IxDA is a non-profit organization and is required to have a Board of
Directors, but the Board is just one component of the success of IxDA.
It is through the conference, initiatives, local groups and individual
involvement that the IxDA network thrives. Our organizational
structure is based on two simple ideas: local grassroots involvement
and global stewardship through the Board. We encourage all our members
to organize at the local level. We encourage all our members to
contribute your thoughts to the advancement of our discipline.

Again, please join us in extending a warm welcome to our newest

Best Regards,
Liz Bacon

Vice-President, IxDA


25 Nov 2008 - 2:41pm
Christian Crumlish

Congratulations to the incoming (and continuing) board members!
And to the founders, for steering their baby through this exciting


On Tue, Nov 25, 2008 at 11:12 AM, Elizabeth Bacon
<lists at>wrote:

> Amyris Fernandez
> Jon Kolko
> Kevin Silver
> Amyris, Jon and Kevin will be joining returning Directors Liz Bacon, Nasir
> Barday, Bill DeRouchey, Janna DeVylder, Jim Leftwich and Jeremy Yuille.

Christian Crumlish
Yahoo! pattern detective
Yahoo! Developer Network evangelist
IA Institute treasurer

Syndicate content Get the feed