Nominations now open for the 2010-2012 IxDA Board of Directors

24 Nov 2009 - 12:28am
1190 reads
IxDA Board of D...

IxDA is now accepting Board member nominations for the 2010-2012 IxDA Board
of Directors term. Nominations will be accepted until December 7, 2009, at
11:59 pm ET.

The Interaction Design Association is a global community focused on
discussing and growing the discipline of interaction design, and the
community of interest is growing at an amazing pace. This growth reflects
the increasing importance and interest in interaction design worldwide.

The IxDA Board of Directors are a nine-person executive committee comprising
of IxDA members who are serving as leaders of IxDA globally. The mission the
IxDA Board supports is:

We believe that the human condition is increasingly challenged by poor
IxDA intends to improve the human condition by advancing the discipline
of Interaction Design.
To do this, we foster a community of people that choose to come
together to support this intention.
IxDA relies on individual initiative, contribution, sharing and
self-organization as the primary means for us to achieve our goals.

As a volunteer-lead and supported organization, with no paid membership,
IxDA relies on leadership emerging directly from the community. We are
seeking highly motivated and passionate individuals, ready to shape and
guide the organization in furthering IxDA's goals and mission.


There are five eligible seats open for the upcoming term, with two vacancies
and three current board members up for a second term. Liz Bacon will be
stepping down, Bill DeRouchey will not be seeking a second term, and Nasir
Barday, Jeremy Yuille and Janna DeVylder are seeking a second term. Each
director's term is two years, with the opportunity to take on a second
consecutive term. Current Board members who are up for their second
consecutive term must also complete the nomination process.

New directors filling these seats will serve a term from January 2009 to
February 2011, which includes a one-month long overlap with retiring


The four executive positions of President, Vice-President, Treasurer and
Secretary have defined responsibilities according to IxDA's official
incorporation as a non-profit entity. These roles are currently occupied by
Janna Hicks DeVylder, Elizabeth Bacon, Bill DeRouchey (who is also co-chair
of Interaction'10), and Jeremy Yuille, respectively. The other IxDA
Directors are Nasir Barday, Steve Baty, Amyris Fernandez, Jon Kolko and
Kevin Silver. Every director is responsible for one or more major
initiatives, currently including communications, fundraising, mentorship,
local leaders, outreach, conference, infrastructure, and education. To see
the Board's current focus, see the Board Retreat notes:

The director role requires the following commitment:

--Participation in a monthly virtual Board meeting
--Active participation in setting strategic direction for the organization
--Responsible for leading at least one major initiative
--Average of four hours attending to IxDA business a week
--Attend the Board of Director's retreat, held once a year
--Attend the Interaction conference


After all nominations are received, the current Board will review all
nominations and vote to fill the five positions.
Any current Board member up for a second term is not allowed to vote for

After nominations are received on Monday, December 7th, new Board members
will be notified by Friday, December 18th.
The new term will begin January 1st, and new Board members will be expected
to attend IxD10 in February, expenses covered.

Nominations will be accepted until December 7, 2009, at 11:59 pm ET.
Nominate yourself or someone you know (and we'll reach out to them):

Do you have feedback or questions about the current Board, or the process? <>

Syndicate content Get the feed